Writing and Research: Creating Citations

Guides for Common Citation Styles 
This resource contains extensive citation guides for APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, and AMA styles.

Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide 
This site features a brief guide to creating citations in Chicago style.

How to Cite in APA 
This resource offers a basic overview of APA style with examples.

How to Cite in MLA 
This resource offers a basic overview of MLA style with examples.

Quick Guide to Harvard Referencing Style 
The Open University hosts a short guide on how to use Harvard style.

What is Plagiarism? 
This article covers the basics of plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Plagiarism Checklist 
This checklist provides guidance on avoiding plagiarism.

Works Cited vs. Bibliography 
This article discusses the differences between works cited lists and bibliographies.

What is a Bibliography?
This resource examines when to use a bibliography and how to create one.

BibGuru is a free, user-friendly citation generator. With BibGuru, you can:

• Search for website, article, and book sources and add them to a bibliography with one click.
• Add citations for more than 60 other source types.
• Create bibliographies in APA, MLA, and thousands of other citation styles.
• Export your citations as a Word file or copy them into Google Docs.
• Generate instant citations for online sources with the Chrome and Edge extensions.
• Sign-up to save your citations and organize them into projects and folders.

Paperpile is a subscription-based reference manager. With Paperpile, you can:

• Manage your research library right in your browser.
• Save time with a smart, intuitive interface.
• Access your PDFs from anywhere.
• Add citations and bibliographies directly to Google Docs or to MS Word.